1:55

Yes that’s right. For those of you who have read my previous entry I ran my first half marathon this morning. Let me just say I think that it was one of the hardest things I have ever done. I can also say that it was also one of the most amazing things I have ever done. I AM SO PROUD OF MYSELF 🙂 and even more amazed of how my body was strong enough to run 21km this morning.

My unofficial time was 1:55.10. I entered this race not even thinking I would be able to finish up two hours. I guess my body had a different plan. I Started very strong. I looked something like this.

I was fine until 10km and my hip slowly started to hurt. By 13km I was practically in tears. It was dreadful. I did NOT think I could carry on. I struggled till about km 17 and I got a second wind and flew till about km 19 and my hip was hating me in a major way. When I hit the 20 km mark I sprinted as fast as I possibly could knowing I was on my final stretch and I wanted to give it my ALL. I think I achieved that.

My eats today included an unpictured wholegrain, peanut butter banana and spinach bagel.During the race I had Cliff Vanilla Goo at km 10. It was really good in a gooey sort of way. Vanilla goo..yumm…

I came home to this fantastic feed. YUM!

½ wholegrain bagel with hummus, spinach, capsicum topped with a microwaved egg white pattie and mustard, curry and cumin.

½ wholegrain bagel with peanut butter, pear and brie. DELICIOUS!

It was perfect.

Now it is time for a celebratory drink! I think I deserve it 🙂

Ciao

2 thoughts on “1:55

Leave a Reply

