words of wisdom and a bit of frittata.

“Often we don’t even realize who we’re meant to be because we’re so busy trying to live out someone else’s ideas. But other people and their opinions hold no power in defining our destiny.”

Oprah Winfrey, O Magazine, November 2009

Hello!

I would like to begin by welcoming you into a new week, whether it is Sunday or Monday. From where I am sitting it is Monday and a very wet, cold and grey Monday at that.  It is forecasted to be like this all week for those of you who may be reading from Christchurch, so turn that frown upside and get used to it. Or like me get in the kitchen and take advantage of some real, healthy, tasty cooking action with wholesome nutritious ingredients OR bake a huge cake for someone you care about, or maybe just for yourself. Whatever your cooking or whoever your may be cooking for take your time and enjoy. Cooking is truly a special thing. On the cooking topic, I watched Julie and Julia over the weekend I give two thumbs up. No doubt it was a great movie.

On to some eats for the day. Despite the fact that I haven’t posted for a few days I guess I have forgot my camera at home and only have my pictures for today. Sorry about that. I have something that will make up for it though, promise.

I started my day with a bowl of yoghurt mess inspired from ‘Girl Meets Health’ my bowl included. ¼ cup oats, ½ cup Yoplait yoghurt, spoonful of greek yoghurt, half of a banana, a ½ teaspoon of chia seeds and mixed in some spinach. Yes, I add spinach to my muesli, yoghurt and smoothies. Don’t judge me for it until you try it for yourself.

I then hit up my gym, well I am hoping for it to be my gym when I win the one year membership giveaway that came along with my 30 day pass. Wishful thinking right? When I arrive I did 4.11 km in 23 minutes before my 50 minute body pump class and finished with 1.62 km in 10 minutes. It was a kick-ass Monday work out. It is all about the power of positive thinking, y’all have seen the The Secret right? If not you should.

I proceeded to steal about half of banana cake that I made for someone yesterday. I am sorry an UNPICTURED banana cake recipe that I made for someone yesterday.

WAIT. I lie I do have a picture. As I have the pieces I took in the fridge waiting to be shared. Sorry for that, I just needed so share the love. Looks pretty dense to me, yummy.

Anyway back to eats for the day. I came home starving and made this.

Actually the end result was more like this. One small orange kumara topped with a laughing cow cheese triangle, broccoli brussel sprouts on a bed of spinach covered with K&M just the way I like it…

I decided to make something ahead of time for dinner tonight and most likely lunch and perhaps dinner tomorrow night as well because I am just boring like that..

I made a Quinoa Veggie Frittata.

In the Mix:

3 eggs

½ cup cooked quinoa

Some broccoli

1 Mushroom

Some red onion

Topped with tomato, Laughing cow cheese, pumpkin seeds, curry and cumin.

First I grilled up the broccoli, mushroom, onion seasoned with the curry and cumin.

I put the grilled veggies in a loaf pan and topped with the cooked quinoa. Then I mixed up 3 eggs and some soymilk and poured it over the veggies and quinoa. I sliced up some tomato and sprinkled the pumpkin seeds and put it in the oven for about 40 minutes.

Till it came out like this, which is just the way I like it. Nice and golden brown on top and nice and moist on the inside. Actually I am hoping that is as I have not actually cut into it yet.

I am going to have you leave you with this recipe, whether you test it out or not is up to you but I am off to a fitting and to work and another quote. Just because.

 Watch your thoughts, they become your words, watch your words they become your actions. Watch your actions, they become your habits, watch your habits they become your character, watch your character is becomes your destiny.

Anonymous

Have a nice week. Stay warm.

Ciao

One thought on “words of wisdom and a bit of frittata.

  1. great reading as always – sorry to hear the weather is getting so chilly – it is finally beginning to feel like summer is coming….a trip to SM – Malibu is in order!!!!

Leave a Reply

