Leftover easter chocolate cookies

Hello..err..Readers?

Day 3 of my life in the blogging world and I am just lovin’ it and not in the McDonalds sort of way  but in the ‘I am glad I decided to finally launch ‘Nat Attacks a Balanced Life’.  Great news I got my camera back so I got to take some pictures of my eats. Today, was pretty uneventful it sort of just flew by and by the time I realized it was 5pm and all I’ve done was a load of washing not even completed it but just stuck it in left and left the house for the gym. I had a kick butt gym session today even though I neglected my massage and was super sleepy, I may need to check my iron levels because no matter how much I have been sleeping I am so tired all time. Maybe…just maybe it was my massive night on Saturday. At least some good came out of Saturday as you will see at some stage when I post the pictures up, I spread some Operational Beautiful Love  ❤ in Christchurch. I am not sure what the rules are about talking about other peoples blogs but if you are familiar with the blog world and no of Caitlin from her blog ‘The Healthy Tipping Point’ then you know what I am talking about 😉

Back to today’s gym session, which started with a body pump class and kicked my shoulders butt from Saturdays XFIT class. Yes…IM STILL HURTING! Followed by body pump I did a Spin Express class that put the cherry on top of my workout. Phew! I was Exhausted.

Before leaving  for the gym I had the same as yesterday’s over night oats but topped with Almond Butter for a protein kick before the gym.  Gym was followed by a trip to the supermarket and to pick up some home essentials, I am finally starting to put my room together a bit more and I moved into this house in February and to get my camera from a friends place. Mission accomplished.

I didn’t return home to my beautiful kitchen till about 4:30ish and I WAS STARVING and still needed to finish chores and bake my special healthy leftover easter bunny cookies that I had planned for this evening. At least I had lunch ready from last night’s dinner, which was also going to be tonight’s dinner.  Creative much? I think not. Hey, at least it’s tasty, cheap, fast and easy and I did I mention HEALTHY.

REMEMBER TO KEEP CALM AND CARRY ON

where the magic happens

This image is my Spinach, Broccoli, Courgette and Kidney Bean Curry Inspired Veggie Chili, which is delicious in every way. I will add this to my recipe page, I think it deserves it.

Curry Powder and Chili flake make veggies taste amazing. On a very random note as this thought just came into my head. I have a few addictions at the moment and they include baked Brussel Sprouts, Ketchup (I have almost gone through a whole entire Heinz Organic Bottle in under a week), Pumpkin Kumara Dip, Pretzels, Pumpkin Seeds Spinach, Apricot and Passion Yoghurt, Baked Pumpkin and Apple Cider. Weird Combination I know…get used to it. To add to the list my ECBMC’s could easily make it to that list as they are crunchy, chewy, sweet but not too sweet, cakey but a cookie healthy but don’t taste it amazing in every way possible.

Also, on the menu is leftover Easter Chocolate Banana Maple Cookies. Why not?

Niptuck and bedtime maybe accompanied with a couple of my ECBMC’s.

Leftover Easter Chocolate Banana Maple Cookies

I adapted the recipe from Angela from ‘Oh She Glows’ Banana Apricot Spelt Cookies. For the original recipe and nutritional info, see her post. However, as you will learn a practically NEVER EVER follow a recipe exactly. It’s just how I roll…and I don’t usually have any issues or complaints.

  • Ingredients:
    • 1 egg
    • 1 cup regular oats
    • 1 cup whole grain flour
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1/4 cup chopped apricots
    • 1/4 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes
    • 1/4 cup of mixed nuts-pumpkin, sesame, sunflower, almond
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla
    • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
    • 1 banana, mashed, leave chunky
    • A handful of a broken easter bunny chocolate. The classic tall one wrapped in pretty pink, blue and yellow foil with no particular brand that is sold in every store.

Directions: Preheat the oven to 375F. Mix dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl and set aside. Mix wet ingredients in a small to medium sized bowl. Pour wet mixture into dry ingredients. Stir well and shape cookies onto a pan. Makes 16 very small cookies or about 8 large cookies. I made mine large Cook for 10 minutes.

Ciao

3 thoughts on “Leftover easter chocolate cookies

  1. Re your recipes Natalie

    Might be a good idea to go gluten-free with your ingredients.
    It basically makes you feel better, no bloating or tiredness and more energy!
    You can use gluten-free flour. All you need to do is try going gluten-free for a week and notice how good you feel!

    Regards

    Lorraine Thomson
    Publisher / Editor
    New Zealand Fitness

    • Hi Lorraine,

      Thanks for reading and for the advice. Maybe I will give it a week trial, will have to start next week as I have already dipped into the cookies 🙂 if you have any other advice or anything that you would like to see on the blog let me know. I need all the help I can get.

      I am based in Christchurch at the moment but one day maybe we can collaborate on some work or even when I make the move up to auckland, which could be by the end of the year. We just got your latest issue into the cafe and keep up the good work.
      Fitness for life!

      Ciao, Natalie

  2. sounds good natalie – gluten free flour mixtures sounds good -wholefoods in santa monica is stocked so well lately with gluten free products

Leave a Reply

