An Ode To Green Smoothies

I would like to take the time to write about smoothies. My love for smoothies goes way back and it continues to grow every time I have a smoothie. These days my smoothies are far more healthier, tastier and greener!

Sounds crazy I know. It really is not as crazy as it sounds or looks. I do admit that I am not the creator of this delicious green smoothie as I do not think that I would wake up one morning and decide to add bunches of fresh spinach to my morning smoothie but for the gorgeous lady who did I commend her for this nutrient packed treat that has been coined in the blog world as the Green Monster.

The woman behind it all is a woman named Angela who writes a blog titled ‘Oh She Glows’, which can be accessed at www.ohsheslows.com. She also has a website devoted to Green Monsters that contains recipes, FAQ and the history behind the green monster, which can be found at www.thegreenmonstermovement.com.

I love smoothies. I always have and I always will. I used to beg my mum to take me to Jamba Juice when I was growing up. I think I started on the Strawberry Bliss from Jamba Juice but grew to love the Caribbean Passion. I was addicted I think I had one as least 3x a times week. When I moved to New Zealand I had to say goodbye to my beloved Jamba Juice and wondered where I will be able to feed my serious smoothie addiction, when I am not able to make them at home.  I was fortunate enough to be picked up by a local who took me straight to Boost Smoothie as soon as I landed so I can satisfy my craving after a long flight. Boost is an Australian smoothie and juice company that can no longer be found in New Zealand but I sure did love the Tropical Storm that was made with Coconut Milk!

 It was at this point in my life when I knew I could no longer order my beloved Caribbean Passion or Tropical Storm that I had to purchase a blender for myself to satisfy all of my smoothie cravings morning, noon or night. It was also a time when I learned that all the smoothies that I have been enjoying my have not been the healthiest addiction ever. You may be asking yourself how a smoothie can be unhealthy and there are a lot of additional sugary ingredients that make smoothies more of an indulgence then something that you should have regularly. Additional ingredients such as: juice (not squeezed fresh), frozen yoghurt (with added sugar), sherbet, sorbet or ice cream can add unwanted calories and sugar to what could be a healthy and delicious snack.

This brings me to a great alternative. I introduce to you the Green Monster Smoothies with a full demonstration on how I make my daily green smoothie.

 I usually keep frozen banana chunks on hand and ready to use for smoothies or banana soft serve. All I do is peel my banana, cut into chunks and throw them in a zip lock bag and put that in the freezer. This makes the process a lot easier and the result much thicker and creamier.

How to make Nat Attack’s Green Monster:

Ingredients:

Frozen Banana Chunks (1 banana)

2 handfuls of fresh Spinach

½-1 Cup of Soy Milk

1 tsp. Chia Seeds

2-3 Scoops Vanilla Protein Power

1 Scoop of AmazinGrass Super food Powder

1 tsp. Vanilla Essence/ Coconut Essence

2 or 3 Ice Cubes

Pinch of Xanthan Gum (for thickening)

Additional Add ins: Frozen Berries, Peanut Butter (SO GOOD), Pureed Pumpkin, Frozen Avocado, Strawberries, Oranges, Kiwi fruit, Kale or any other fruit or vegetable you are keen on.

  1.  First I put 1 or 2 ice cubes at the bottom of the blender.
  2. add the spinach
  3. Then I add the frozen banana chunks on top of the spinach to weigh it down
  4. I put in the protein powder, amazing grass powder, xanthan gum, and essence of choice.
  5. If I am feeling adventurous or want to mix up the flavor I add in my favourite additions usually frozen berries or peanut butter.
  6. Blend and Enjoy

The end result is a very thick smoothie and usually makes about 2.5 cups. My favorite way to enjoy my green monster is in a bowl topped with some muesli , oats or cereal for a bit of crunch action and eaten with a spoon. Other toppings can include chocolate chips, coconut, a dollop of peanut butter, more banana slices, crumbled muffin or sweet bread.

 My favorite recipes include:

Strawberry + Banana

Peanut Butter + Banana (Heaven)

Pumpkin+Cinnamon+Vanilla (Pumpkin Pie)

Cocoa Powder+ Peanut Butter

Avocado+Banana

Blueberry + Vanilla +Banana (Blueberry Muffin)

Coconut + Banana+ Pineapple (Think Pina Coloda)

I really want to try Mint Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Covered Strawberry, Cookie Dough, Chocolate Cherry Bomb and Tropical Mango Green Monsters as well. I have the recipes for them all and I cannot wait to continue coming up with new recipes.

Before I go I would like to promise you that you can’t taste the spinach in the smoothie at all! Adding your daily greens adds many nutrients including Vitamin A, Manganese, Folate, Magnesium, Iron, Vitamin C, Vitamin B2, Calcium, Potassium and dietary fiber.

Let me know what amazing combinations or ideas you have for a Green Monster!

 Life Life.Eat Well.Practice Yoga.

4 thoughts on “An Ode To Green Smoothies

  1. Pingback: Getting to know: Natattacks’ smoothies « Fourchette & Knife

  2. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your information.
    This article has really peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your blog and keep
    checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your Feed too.

Leave a Reply

